Spawning Fetchmail with a Minimal Environment

I often ran fetchmail in the background, in “daemon mode”, to keep fetching my email from multiple accounts and piping it all through the Sendmail instance running as the local MTA of my laptop.

But I don’t always remember to run fetchmail before launching GNOME or before “polluting” my shell’s environment with dozens of environment variables that may be either useless or even mildly dangerous for a long running process like fetchmail.

So I started making a habit out of starting fetchmail under a relatively minimalistic env(1) invocation like this one:

% env -i LANG='C' LC_ALL='C' \
    HOME="${HOME}" TERM='dumb' \
    MAIL="${MAIL}" TMPDIR="${TMPDIR:-/tmp}" \
    PATH='/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin' fetchmail -a -K -d 101

The env -i start of this command clears all environment variables from the current shell, and then I copy only a small set of environment values from the current shell to the env-subprocess that fetchmail will run under.

Now I feel much safer about a fetchmail process running hours or even days in the background. Even if I restart my desktop session a few times, or I decide to experiment a bit with alternate environments, I know that fetchmail will be running with a working and very minimal set of environment options.

This entry was posted in Computers, Email, Free software, FreeBSD, GNU/Linux, Linux, Open source, Security, Software and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.