Vorbis tools & “Classical Moods: Melancholy”

One of my favorite classical music collections is “Classical Moods: Melancholy” by EMI Records.

As an experiment and a learning experience, I started converting this CD-ROM to Ogg Vorbis, to replace the MP3 files I carry around.

Doing this with vorbis-tools was easy enough. I first used dagrab(1) to grab the audio tracks from my CD-ROM copy of “CM/M”:

$ mkdir ~/audio/classical.moods/melancholy
$ cd ~/audio/classical.moods/melancholy
$ dagrab -a -v -d /dev/acd0 -f '%02d.wav'
[...]

Then with oggenc(1) and a short shell script to convert all the *.wav files to Ogg Vorbis:

#!/bin/sh

album='Classical Moods: Melancholy'
genre='Classical music'

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Albinoni' -t 'Adagio' \
  -N 01 01.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Ravel' -t 'Pavane pour une infante défunte' \
  -N 02 02.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Allegri' -t 'Miserere' \
  -N 03 03.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Purcell' -t 'Funeral Music for Queen Mary - March & Canzona' \
  -N 04 04.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Purcell' -t 'Dido and Aeneas - When I am laid in Earth' \
  -N 05 05.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Walton' -t 'Henry V - Passacaglia - The Death of Falstaff' \
  -N 06 06.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Beethoven' -t 'Moonlight Sonata' \
  -N 07 07.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Rodrigo' -t 'Concierto de Aranjuez' \
  -N 08 08.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Grieg' -t 'Peer Gynt' \
  -N 09 09.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Brahms' -t 'Intermezzo' \
  -N 10 10.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Mahler' -t 'Symphony No 5 in C sharp minor - IV Adagietto (conclusion)' \
-N-N 12 12.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Elgar' -t 'Enigma variations - IX Nimrod' \
  -N 13 13.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Chopin' -t 'Prelude in E minor - Op 28 No 4' \
  -N 14 14.wav

oggenc -q 3 -n '%n.%a.%t.ogg' -l "${album}" -G "${genre}" \
  -a 'Barber' -t 'Adagio' \
  -N 15 15.wav

As I’m typing this, Albinoni’s and Samuel Barber’s “Adagio”s fill the room with the sounds which kept me company in my trip to Naples in 1998. It’s been almost ten years now. I don’t remember all the names of the B.E.S.T. people I met in Napoli, but every time I listen to “CM/M”, I invariably remember the great times we had there :-)

2 thoughts on “Vorbis tools & “Classical Moods: Melancholy”

  1. Philip Paeps

    I’ve recently become a fan of abcde (audio/abcde) after having used crip (audio/crip) for many years. I have started to re-rip most of my classical cds to single flac files with a cuelist.

    Two reasons for flac:
    1) Diskspace is cheap and no extra loss to convert to other formats
    2) Gapless playback

    I find that the ‘song’-based approach doesn’t really work for most of my classical/opera cds. The ‘album’ and ‘cuepoints’ paradigm works very well, however.

    – Philip

    PS: You have inspired me to pour Dido&Aeneas through my speakers now. :-)

  2. keramida Post author

    Excellent tips, thank you Philip! :-)

    I don’t know a lot of things about flac (or other audio formats, for that matter), but I’ll definitely look into “audio/abcde”.

    PS: D&A enthusiasts everywhere, cheer for Philip thrice, “yay”x3 :)

Comments are closed.